Finalists for 2016 National Air Quality Awards unveiled


Finalists have been announced for this year’s National Air Quality Awards ceremony with organisations involved in transport and partnerships among those on the shortlist.

Winners of the Awards will be announced at the ceremony which follows the AirQualityNews air quality conference, taking place in London on Thursday, November 10. More information about the conference programme and awards event is available Here.

The conference, at the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre in Westminster, will see presentations from sector experts and officials including one on Urban Environmental Health from Sani Dimitroulopoulou, Senior Environmental Scientist, Public Health England. Dr James Cooper of the Joint Air Quality Unit at Defra will provide an update on the Clean Air Zone Framework.

AirQualityNews readers receive a 20% discount on the conference and awards (code AQ20). Please visit: Awards or call 020 7633 4522

Presentations will also cover the local authority sector, Heathrow and other topics.


Within the local authority and public sector category, the Awards shortlist includes an education scheme for young people in Scotland as well as a London partnership to tackle pollution in one of the UK’s most polluted areas. The Awards partner is Mercedes Benz with FUSO.

(l-r) October 2015, Awards ceremony saw IAQM chair Roger Barrowcliffe presenting Oxford city council’s air quality officer Ian Halliday and’s Steve Eminton

(l-r) The October 2015 Awards ceremony saw the then IAQM chair Roger Barrowcliffe presenting the local authority award to Oxford city council’s air quality officer, Ian Halliday for the city’s low emission zone work; and’s Steve Eminton

Other categories include a set of individuals who have all acted in a variety of ways to improve air quality or bring attention to the need to act. And, technological developments also feature from fuel treatments to refrigeration emission work and emissions data provision.

The full list of finalists in the four categories are shown below.

Local Authority & Public Sector Air Quality Initiative 2016, sponsored by EarthSense

  • Barts Health NHS Trust and Global Action Plan – Cleaner Air for East London
  • Clean Air for Schools Programme, Transport for Greater Manchester
  • Cross River Partnership, London Clean Air Better Business
  • Scottish Environment Protection Agency, Glasgow City of Science and Young Scot

Award for Innovation in Air Quality Technology, sponsored by Mercedes-Benz & Fuso

  • ABS Comtech – Add Me engine treatment
  • Bibby Distribution – milk collection fleet
  • Dearman, Driving Clean Cold – zero emission transport refrigeration system
  • Emissions Analytics, Equa Index

Passenger Transport Air Quality Initiative, sponsored by Heathrow Airport

  • Addison Lee, Geo Ring Fence
  • Transport for Greater Manchester, clean air for schools programme
  • West Midlands Combined Authority, Low Emission bus delivery plan

Air Quality Champion 2016, sponsored by Calor Gas

  • Alan Andrews, Clean air lawyer, ClientEarth
  • John Glover, Managing director, Bywaters
  • Matthew Linnecar & Sam Clarke, Co-founders of Gnewt Cargo
  • Stephen Wilkinson, Head of risk and compliance, Addison Lee.

Second year

The Awards are now in their second year. Last year’s event was held in Bristol. For a full report on the 2015 winners, see: 2015 Awards. Details of this year’s event are available Here.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Help us break the news – share your information, opinion or analysis
Back to top