Entries invited for 2017 National Air Quality Awards

Local authorities, public transport organisations, technology developers and individuals working to tackle air pollution across the UK are invited to enter the 2017 National Air Quality Awards.

Taking place at London’s leading sustainable conference venue The Crystal on 23 November, the Awards will recognise the hard work and innovation taking place in the public and private sectors to meet the challenge of cleaning up the UK’s air.

Click here for full details including awards categories and entry criteria

Winners from the 2016 National Air Quality Awards

The Awards will take place shortly after the National Air Quality Conference, which is also taking place at The Crystal earlier that day.

The conference will explore a number of the major issues around air pollution in the UK, including the government’s nitrogen dioxide plan, the future of road transport and public engagement on air quality. Speakers have already been confirmed from organisations such as UK Power Networks, Leeds city council, Cenex and a host of others. Delegates can buy tickets to either or both events.

Past winners

2017 marks the third year that the National Air Quality Awards have taken place, with past winners having included Alan Andrews of ClientEarth, Dearman, Oxford city council, Emissions Analytics and Great Ormond Street Hospital.

Due to the outstanding success of the 2015 and 2016 Awards, this year’s event has been expanded to incorporate more categories, and to recognise some of the wider work being done to tackle air pollution in the UK.

Returning Categories include Local Authority & Public Sector Air Quality Initiative of the Year, Innovation in Air Quality Technology, Passenger Transport Air Quality and Air Quality Champion.

This year there will also be categories to recognise the Air Quality Communications Initiative of the Year, Freight Transport Air Quality Initiative of the Year, Leader in Low Emission Vehicles and Commercial Sector Air Quality Initiative of the Year.

Applicants have until 5 October to submit entries in any of the categories. In order to enter, applicants can submit a 500 — 750 word summary along with any supporting material you wish to include. Each entry can be submitted in up to two categories, but you can submit as many entries as you wish. More details on each award and some of the judging criteria can be found here.


Comments are closed.

Help us break the news – share your information, opinion or analysis
Back to top