Wide-ranging DfT reshuffle complete

The reshuffle at the Department for Transport (DfT) is now complete after Prime Minister Boris Johnson named Chris Heaton-Harris and George Freeman as new ministers.

Mr Heaton-Harris replaces Michael Ellis, who lasted just over two months in the role.

Mr Heaton-Harris, who is the MP for Daventry, was previously a Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department for Exiting the European Union from July 2018 until April 2019.

He joins George Freeman at the DfT who was also appointed today as a junior minister.

In a tweet, Mr Freeman said he was ‘honoured & fired up’ to have been appointed by the new Prime Minister, adding he wanted to ‘turbo charge an economy that is genuinely working to spread access to opportunity for all.’

Chris Heaton-Harris (L) and George Freeman (R)

Prior to being elected to Parliament in 2010, Mr Freeman had a 15-year career in the life sciences sector working on healthcare innovations.

Grant Shapps was announced as Secretary of State for the department last week (July 25), replacing the sacked Chris Grayling.

In a tweet, Mr Shapps said he was ‘delighted and honoured’ to take the position.

Completing the reshuffle, Paul Maynard has replaced Harrogate MP Andrew Jones as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State.

Nusrat Ghani and Baroness Vere of Norbiton both stay in their positions as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State.


Comments are closed.

Help us break the news – share your information, opinion or analysis
Back to top