Winners of awards for low carbon transport announced

Transport for London and Ford Motor Company were both recipients of special accolades at Low Carbon Vehicle Partnership Awards

Special accolades were given to Transport for London (TfL) and Ford Motor Company Ltd at the Low Carbon Vehicle Partnership (LowCVP)’s 10-year anniversary celebrations last night (January 29).

Both organisations were presented with a special anniversary award for ‘Outstanding Achievement in Low Carbon Transport over the last 10 years’. One award was given to a private organisation and the other to a public organisation.

Speakers at the event included Imperial College Professor and Committee on Climate Change member Jim Skea

Speakers at the event included Imperial College Professor and Committee on Climate Change member Jim Skea (photo: LowCVP)

Awards’ judges cited the expansion of London’s hybrid bus fleet; the take-up of hydrogen and electric vehicles; and the introduction of the congestion charge and the low emission zone as major reasons for TfL’s accolade.

Mike Weston, London buses operations director, commented: “We’re delighted that the work over the past decade in trialling and adopting lower carbon vehicles and striving to reduce emissions has been recognised with this outstanding achievement award. We (TfL) will continue to monitor other technologies that could help us to deliver greater benefits, in line with the Mayor’s commitment to cutting CO2 emissions and improving air quality in the capital.”

LowCVP Low Carbon Champions Awards recognise public and private organisations’ endeavours to cut carbon emissions from road transport in the UK.

Speakers at the event, which took place at One Birdcage Walk in Westminster, included Imperial College Professor and Committee on Climate Change member Jim Skea and chief executive of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers Stephen Tetlow MBE.

LowCVP, established in 2003, is a public-private partnership that works with the government to promote and help develop low carbon vehicles and fuels in the UK. It became a non-profit organisation in 2009.

Routemaster buses

Ireland-based transport manufacturer Wrightbus received the ‘Low Carbon Heavy Duty Vehicle Manufacturer of the Year Award’ in partnership with TfL for developing the latest hybrid-electric Routemaster bus, or ‘New Bus for London’, at the ceremony. The ‘hop-on, hop-off’ double-decker buses entered into service in the capital in February 2012 as a replacement for the old Routemasters.

David Barnett, Wrightbus product director, said: “Our aim for the project was to create a truly innovative and green vehicle that redefines the icon, making it fit for modern day London. Along with our partners on the project, we have clearly successfully achieved this, with eight vehicles currently in daily service, and a further 600 set for delivery over the next few years.”

Graham Smith, managing director of car manufacturer Toyota Motor Europe in London, was given the award for ‘Outstanding Individual in Promoting Low Carbon Transport’.

Toyota (GB) Plc also took home the award for ‘Low Carbon Car / Van Manufacturer of the Year’, with judges commending the manufacturer for its work in this area since it launched the first Prius, a hybrid car, in 2000.

According to LowCVP, cars emitting less than 100g CO2/km now represent more than 30% of Toyota and Lexus sales.

The judging panel for the awards comprised 28 senior executives from across the range of low-carbon and transport organisations. A total of 39 entries were shortlisted for awards.

Andy Eastlake, LowCVP managing director said: “These Awards recognise best practice, and outstanding leadership and innovation in cutting carbon from vehicles and fuels from every angle. The judges had a tough time deciding on the category winners as the variety and calibre of the entries was higher than ever, which just reflects how the whole industry is rising to the challenge of low carbon mobility.”

One of the judges, Philippa Oldham, head of transport and manufacturing at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, said: “This year’s entrants demonstrate the commitment there is in this sector to shifting our vehicles and fuels towards low carbon. The award winners show that innovation and sustainability are areas that must be invested in by companies in order to succeed.”

The event was held with the support of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE). A full list of the winners and runners up for the awards is available on the LowCVP website.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Help us break the news – share your information, opinion or analysis
Back to top